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I. INTRODUCTION 
Purpose: 
The safety of our employees is our first and foremost priority. We want to ensure that all DOF employees are 
aware of the resources available to them as we work together to meet the challenges of the COVID-19 
pandemic.  

This manual is the DOF reference guide for memos, directives, and operational guidance related to health and 
safety of all employees during the COVID-19 pandemic. Updates will occur periodically and, where appropriate, 
will be incorporated into this manual.  

We are working with our Management Team, the DNR Commissioner, the Department of Health and Social 
Services (DHSS), other interagency partners, and many of you to establish the final Best Management Practices 
and apply them consistently throughout the Division.  

All up to date advisory information as of March 24, 2021 can be found at the State of Alaska Health COVID-19 
Response and Recovery Advisories web page.  

Essential Employees 
See Health Advisory 4 and its linked Critical Infrastructure Workforce Definition for essential employees.  Since 
DOF is a first responder agency, all DOF employees are considered essential. 

LAW ENFORCEMENT, PUBLIC SAFETY, AND OTHER FIRST RESPONDERS  
• Public, private, and voluntary personnel (front-line and management, civilian and sworn) in emergency 

management, law enforcement, fire and rescue services, emergency medical services (EMS), and 
security, public and private hazardous material responders, air medical service providers (pilots and 
supporting technicians), corrections, and search and rescue personnel.  

FOOD AND AGRICULTURE 
• Workers who support sawmills and the manufacture and distribution of fiber and forestry products, 

including, but not limited to timber, paper, and other wood and fiber products, as well as manufacture 
and distribution of products using agricultural commodities. 

 

II. Vaccinations 
As of March 9, 2021, the State of Alaska opened COVID-19 vaccinations for anyone living or working in Alaska 
who is age 16 or older.  
 
ALL DOF employees are eligible for and encouraged to receive the COVID-19 vaccine!  

• Find the list of COVID-19 vaccine providers near you. 
• Here are some FAQs about scheduling appointments.  
• And here is a phone number to call if you need additional help:  

1-907-646-3322 from 9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m. on weekdays, and 9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. on weekends.  
 
Benefits of the vaccine 
See the CDC’s benefits of getting a COVID-19 vaccine.  
See the CDC’s key things to know about COVID-19 vaccines.  
 
Beyond the obvious benefit of being highly immune to COVID-19, other benefits accrue to those who are fully-
vaccinated. (You are considered fully vaccinated for ≥2 weeks after receiving the second dose in a 2-dose series, 
or ≥2 weeks after you have received a single-dose vaccine.)  
 

https://covid19.alaska.gov/health-advisories/#1
https://covid19.alaska.gov/health-advisories/#1
https://covid19.alaska.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/02.14.21-Health-Advisory-4-Critical-Infrastructure.pdf
https://www.cisa.gov/sites/default/files/publications/Version_4.0_CISA_Guidance_on_Essential_Critical_Infrastructure_Workers_FINAL%20AUG%2018v3.pdf
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/Epi/id/Pages/COVID-19/vaccine.aspx
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/Epi/id/Pages/COVID-19/vaccineinfo.aspx#schedulingappts
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/vaccine-benefits.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/keythingstoknow.html


   
 

3 
 

• On February 14, 2021, the Alaska Health Advisory 2, International and Interstate Travel went into effect. 
If you are fully-vaccinated when you travel (whether for work or personal reasons), you are no longer 
required to strict social distance when you arrive at your destination. (CDC still recommends that fully-
vaccinated individuals take precautions and wear masks in public settings.) 

o See Section VI. Exemptions for Fully Vaccinated Individuals:  
a. Fully-vaccinated travelers should follow pre-travel testing protocols, but do not need to 

follow strict social distancing while they are awaiting test results. 
 

• In addition, according to the CDC’s March 8, 2021 guidelines, fully vaccinated people can: 
o Refrain from quarantine and testing following a known exposure if asymptomatic 
o Visit with other fully vaccinated people indoors without wearing masks or physical distancing 
o Visit with unvaccinated people from a single household who are at low risk for severe COVID-19 

disease indoors without wearing masks or physical distancing 
 
Deciding whether to get the vaccine 
• See the CDC’s myths and facts about COVID-19 vaccines.  
• Also, please see the link on our DOF COVID webpage to Dr. Thomas Quimby’s presentation at Spring Ops 

2021. Dr. Quimby is a former wildland firefighter and a current COVID expert (He’s the COVID-19 taskforce 
chair at Mat-Su Regional Medical Center.), and we encourage all DOF employees watch the video to help 
you decide whether to get vaccinated. 

Here are the CDC’s Six Ways to Help Build COVID-19 Vaccine Confidence: 
• Encourage leaders in your family, community, or organizations to be vaccine champions. 
• Have discussions about COVID-19 vaccines where people can openly discuss their views and ask 

questions. 
• Share key messages through multiple channels that people trust and that promote action. 
• Help educate people about COVID-19 vaccines, how they are developed and monitored for safety, and 

how individuals can talk to others about the vaccines. 
• Learn more about finding credible vaccine information. When you come across COVID-19 information, 

cross-check with CDC.gov and learn how to respond to misinformation you encounter. 
• When vaccine is offered to you, make visible your decision to get vaccinated and celebrate it! CDC even 

provides sample vaccine messages for Facebook and Instagram and Twitter!  
 
According to CDC, the vaccine has been mostly effective. However, those fully vaccinated could still get COVID-
19 for reasons such as: 

1. The body did not have enough time to build immunity and the person contracted the virus shortly after 
getting the vaccine.   

2. The vaccines might not be as resistant to new variant strains of the virus.  
3. The length of effectiveness of the vaccine is still being researched.  

Therefore, if you have been vaccinated for COVID-19, you should follow existing CDC guidance on when and how 
long to self-isolate if you have COVID-19.  
 
Can a supervisor ask me if I have been vaccinated?  
Yes. Whether or not you have been vaccinated affects how your supervisors and co-workers need to respond if 
you have been exposed to COVID. For example, you are not required to quarantine after an exposure to 
someone with COVID if you have been vaccinated. Likewise, if you are fully vaccinated, you are not required to 
strict social distance after travel. Division of Forestry can ask if you have been vaccinated because it helps make 

https://covid19.alaska.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/02.14.21-Health-Advisory-2-International-and-Interstate-Travel.pdf'
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/fully-vaccinated-guidance.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/fully-vaccinated-guidance.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/facts.html
http://forestry.alaska.gov/covid
https://urldefense.com/v3/__https:/lnks.gd/l/eyJhbGciOiJIUzI1NiJ9.eyJidWxsZXRpbl9saW5rX2lkIjoxMDYsInVyaSI6ImJwMjpjbGljayIsImJ1bGxldGluX2lkIjoiMjAyMTAzMjYuMzc3ODM0OTEiLCJ1cmwiOiJodHRwczovL3d3dy5jZGMuZ292L3ZhY2NpbmVzL2NvdmlkLTE5L3ZhY2NpbmF0ZS13aXRoLWNvbmZpZGVuY2UuaHRtbCJ9.GlciuLvF4fek4H8UrOL4v12Bg3i4In2QMDJTuxYYR5w/s/1451707528/br/100734808626-l__;!!J2_8gdp6gZQ!6kMrOdVc0QCLcDY_QZ0jKD5YxRCKDE4bk7QQmFvKVqDxgLXPoMdi2KBF92xAwcDbPPlY4Q$
https://urldefense.com/v3/__https:/lnks.gd/l/eyJhbGciOiJIUzI1NiJ9.eyJidWxsZXRpbl9saW5rX2lkIjoxMDcsInVyaSI6ImJwMjpjbGljayIsImJ1bGxldGluX2lkIjoiMjAyMTAzMjYuMzc3ODM0OTEiLCJ1cmwiOiJodHRwczovL3d3dy5jZGMuZ292L2Nvcm9uYXZpcnVzLzIwMTktbmNvdi92YWNjaW5lcy84LXRoaW5ncy5odG1sIn0.5Z9aOeLNgBSXyDKUlcyhqMyDbgp6SQ-jzE7W7qHGJ5s/s/1451707528/br/100734808626-l__;!!J2_8gdp6gZQ!6kMrOdVc0QCLcDY_QZ0jKD5YxRCKDE4bk7QQmFvKVqDxgLXPoMdi2KBF92xAwcBmANJFaw$
https://urldefense.com/v3/__https:/lnks.gd/l/eyJhbGciOiJIUzI1NiJ9.eyJidWxsZXRpbl9saW5rX2lkIjoxMDgsInVyaSI6ImJwMjpjbGljayIsImJ1bGxldGluX2lkIjoiMjAyMTAzMjYuMzc3ODM0OTEiLCJ1cmwiOiJodHRwczovL3d3dy5jZGMuZ292L3ZhY2NpbmVzL3ZhYy1nZW4vZXZhbHdlYnMuaHRtIn0.aNpnt2dmbJDm7xBHuEKSS4diLXGxU2INMA3B714p_Y8/s/1451707528/br/100734808626-l__;!!J2_8gdp6gZQ!6kMrOdVc0QCLcDY_QZ0jKD5YxRCKDE4bk7QQmFvKVqDxgLXPoMdi2KBF92xAwcBp1szWPg$
https://urldefense.com/v3/__https:/lnks.gd/l/eyJhbGciOiJIUzI1NiJ9.eyJidWxsZXRpbl9saW5rX2lkIjoxMDksInVyaSI6ImJwMjpjbGljayIsImJ1bGxldGluX2lkIjoiMjAyMTAzMjYuMzc3ODM0OTEiLCJ1cmwiOiJodHRwczovL3d3dy5jZGMuZ292L2Nvcm9uYXZpcnVzLzIwMTktbmNvdi9jb21tdW5pY2F0aW9uL3ZhY2NpbmF0aW9uLXRvb2xraXQuaHRtbCJ9.asRW0382PnsexZQf96b6erlqsHQNFHgwhBLZ44xo-Bk/s/1451707528/br/100734808626-l__;!!J2_8gdp6gZQ!6kMrOdVc0QCLcDY_QZ0jKD5YxRCKDE4bk7QQmFvKVqDxgLXPoMdi2KBF92xAwcBtsLuaow$
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/if-you-are-sick/isolation.html
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safe workplace decisions. Be ready to show your vaccination card to your supervisor if asked. Your supervisor 
will, of course, maintain confidentiality about your vaccination status.  

While your supervisor may ask whether you’ve been vaccinated, they may not ask about your reasons for not 
being vaccinated, because that might elicit information about a disability, which could violate ADA (Americans 
with Disabilities Act) guidelines.  

Can an employer require an employee be vaccinated?  
While the State of Alaska is not requiring its employees to be vaccinated, it is legal for employers to require 
vaccines before employees return to the worksite if the failure to be vaccinated constitutes a direct threat to 
other employees, because the virus is easily transmitted in the workplace.  
 
EEO and ADA guidelines 
As an employer, the State of Alaska follows ADA guidelines. The following information is from Camille Brill, State 
of Alaska EEO (Equal Employment Opportunity) manager.  

Does the ADA allow an employer ask an employee if he or she has already received the vaccine or, 
similarly, require proof that the employee has been vaccinated? 

ANSWER:  Generally, yes. The EEOC guidance explains that these particular questions do not constitute a 
“disability-related inquiry” because an employee may choose not to have the vaccine for a variety of 
reasons wholly unrelated to any medical condition.  However, an employer has to meet certain 
requirements if it wants to find out why an employee has not received the vaccine. Questioning the 
employee about the reasons that individual has not been vaccinated does constitute a “disability-related 
inquiry” because of the possibility that it will elicit information about a disability. 

That inquiry can only be made, according to the EEOC, if the question is “job-related and consistent with 
business necessity” as provided under the ADA. To meet this job-relatedness standard, the employer 
will need to establish that the worker’s failure to be vaccinated would pose a “direct threat” to the well-
being of that employee or others with whom the employee would have contact as part of his or her job 
duties. Language elsewhere in the EEOC pandemic guidance suggests that an employer should be able 
to establish that “direct threat” standard if the employee has significant contact with other workers or 
third parties as part of performing his or her job duties.  
 
What does ADA say about requiring an employee to be vaccinated?  
On Dec. 16, the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) confirmed that a COVID-19 
vaccination requirement by itself would not violate Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). That law 
prohibits employers from conducting some types of medical examinations.  

“If a vaccine is administered to an employee by an employer for protection against contracting 
COVID-19, the employer is not seeking information about an individual’s impairments or current 
health status and, therefore, it is not a medical examination,” the EEOC says. 

HIPAA 
The State of Alaska and the Division of Forestry are not health care providers, so therefore do not operate under 
HIPAA, but under ADA. However, since there have been a lot of questions about HIPAA, here is some 
information about the law.  
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Your employer asking you if you have a vaccine does not violate HIPAA. The Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) is a federal law that required the creation of national standards to protect 
sensitive patient health information from being disclosed without the patient's consent or knowledge. Asking 
whether you have been vaccinated does not constitute sensitive patient health information; rather, it is a way to 
collect “information for the purpose of preventing or controlling disease...” (45 CFR § 164.512(b)(i)) 
 
More resources:  
• This AARP article goes into more detail about vaccines and the workplace.  
• This National Law Review article has more information about requiring vaccines. 
 

III.  Facilities and Work Environment 
Facilities Access 
Access to fire management facilities is limited to on-duty personnel and others conducting essential business. 
Unauthorized or unessential personnel are not allowed into the buildings. Off-duty employees are not allowed 
on-station without approval from their supervisor. 

On-duty employees will utilize phone calls, emails, and teleconferencing as preferred methods of 
communicating and conducting business. Employees will minimize time spent in other’s workspaces. Access to 
the building is through one designated entrance only.  

General Actions: 
• Practicing social distancing. 
• Disinfecting or decontaminating general facilities daily (See EPA’s list of disinfectants for COVID-19.)  
• Directing facilities (Areas) to maintain a two-week supply of cleaning supplies, to be considered PPE for 

employees. 
• Installing physical barriers in some offices where social distancing cannot occur with the public. 
• Requiring employees to wear face coverings in the workplace when not at their workspace, for example, 

when moving around the office or at an in-person meeting.  
o Current CDC and DOA guidelines should be applied and enforced. 
o Social distancing is not a substitute for a mask. Even if you’re 6 feet away from others, when 

you’re moving around the office, wear a mask.  
o Face shields are not recommended. Only if regular face masks cannot be worn due to a medical 

disability may an employee wear a face shield. Use of face shields are not an acceptable 
substitute for face masks. Face shields provide good protection for the person wearing them, 
but they allows great number of droplets in the air and do not protect others as much.  

• Discontinuing the use of community-use items (pens, staplers, hole punches, etc.). 
• Isolating after encounter if not fully-vaccinated. Ensure protocols are in place regarding how to handle 

isolation if a responder encounters someone with the virus. This would include dealing with immediate 
decontamination.  

• Ensuring a system is in place for reporting incidents of exposure. 

Administrative Actions: 
• DHSS will coordinate with their contractors to provide routine testing or testing needed for 

asymptomatic and symptomatic personnel/groups for DOF. 
• DHSS will coordinate with their contractors to provide vaccinations.  
• Using Microsoft Teams for virtual meetings.  

https://www.aarp.org/work/working-at-50-plus/info-2020/employer-require-covid-vaccine.html
https://www.natlawreview.com/article/eeoc-says-employers-may-mandate-covid-19-vaccinations-subject-to-limitations
https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-coronavirus-covid-19
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/guidance-business-response.html
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• Establishing simple screening procedures at points of entry to interaction (i.e. where more than a single 
staff member will be working).  

• Procuring additional laptops in anticipation of additional staff telecommuting.  
• Quarantining and tracking of staff required by State mandates. 
• Managing staff working a combination of telecommuting agreements, COVID-19 leave, and personal 

leave.  
• Soliciting vendor contacts for cleaning contracts.  
• Responding to concerns from employees, family members, and the public regarding our response or lack 

of response relative to COVID-19. 
• Facilitating staff telecommuting agreements.   
• Developing requirements for Emergency Contact lists, Continuing Operation Plans (COOP) and Employee 

Availability lists. 
• Submitting required forms, timesheets, and documents online.  
• Developing procedures for supplemental workforce. 

Training Measures: 
2021 Interagency Spring Training will focus specifically on courses necessary for task book and position 
development, including flex plan requirements. Courses not required for development that cannot be delivered 
virtually will be postponed to 2022. DOF will be offering courses through multiple platforms; virtual, blended 
and in-person based on course design and content to deliver the best quality class, while also providing for the 
safety of our students and cadres regarding the COVID pandemic.                               

Field Operations Actions:  
• Located in the Area COVID-19 Mitigation Plans at http://forestry.alaska.gov/covid. 
• Wildland Fire Operations Prevent & Manage COVID Flyer 

Facilities Supplies: 
• Area offices should purchase cleaning, sanitizing, and personal protective equipment (PPE) items from 

local sources. Warehouses can support offices that are remote or limited in their ability to purchase 
these supplies locally, but warehouses need to maintain inventories to supply incidents in bulk.  

• Warehouse stock is prioritized for statewide inventory for the 2021 fire season.  
• COVID information signs from CDC should be posted in offices:  

o Hand-washing posters  
o Stop the spread of germs 

Decontamination of facilities and/or equipment: 
• Use CDC guide for Cleaning and Disinfection for Community Facilities and Household Cleaning for 

suspected or confirmed Coronavirus disease. 
• Vendors for decontamination have been identified and established through procurement at the Area or 

Sectional Office level. 

Disinfecting work areas: 
Clean areas or items with soap and water detergent. Then, use a household disinfectant.  

 
Personal Protective Equipment: 
EFF and regular DOF employees should try to keep PPE, sanitizer and wipes with them, and bring them to their 
assignments; it is a personal responsibility to be prepared. In-state incidents will provide these items but there is 
no guarantee what will be supplied for out-of-state assignments. Be prepared and bring these items with you. 

http://forestry.alaska.gov/covid
http://forestry.alaska.gov/Assets/pdfs/covid/prevent%20COVID%20flyer%20FINAL.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/handwashing/posters.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/downloads/stop-the-spread-of-germs.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/cleaning-disinfection.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prevent-getting-sick/cleaning-disinfection.html?CDC_AA_refVal=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.cdc.gov%2Fcoronavirus%2F2019-ncov%2Fprepare%2Fcleaning-disinfection.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prevent-getting-sick/disinfecting-your-home.html
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OSHA requires job specific assessments be conducted to determine the need for an N-95 mask prior to 
authorization for use. Employees identified for authorization are required to be fit-tested to wear an N-95 mask. 
N-95 masks are required for medical personnel and anyone working in close proximity to COVID-positive 
patients. All DOF personnel who are medically trained, certified and designated to provide medical aid will need 
to be fit tested for the N-95 mask. Contact your Safety Officer, Tom Greiling (thomas.greiling@alaska.gov) for 
more details or questions related to the N-95 mask. 

Face Coverings 
On February 14th, DHSS Commissioner Crum issued Health Advisory 1: Recommendations for Keeping Alaskans 
Safe, which states:  

• Wearing a cloth face covering is strongly recommended for all Alaskans two years of age and older, 
other than those with breathing problems and those who cannot remove the covering without 
assistance. Face coverings protect those around you, and also offer you some protection.  

• Make sure the face covering is made with at least two layers of fabric and covers both the nose and 
mouth.  

• When removing the face covering, avoid touching the front of the face covering  
• Wash your hands immediately after removing the face covering and before touching anything else.  
• Wash cloth face coverings in hot, soapy, water between every use.  
• Be careful to avoid developing a false sense of security when using face coverings. 

 

On February 4, 2021, Commissioner Tshibaka of the Alaska Department of Administration, issued Operational 
and Workplace Guidance in Response to COVID-19. 

Maintaining social distancing and mask wearing needs to occur during in-person employee meetings and 
gatherings. There is no limit on group gatherings as long as the attendees can maintain social distancing 
and wear masks. Other options are to work with staff to develop alternatives, such as teleconferencing 
or videoconferencing, for conducting these meetings. 

 
See the CDC’s updated recommendations on the use of cloth face coverings to help slow the spread of COVID-19 
for more information.  
 
DOF’s expectations for wearing face coverings:    
DOF is a first responder agency, and as firefighters and support personnel, it is our responsibility as public 
servants to protect the public. Most of that is protecting life and property from fire, but we also have an 
inherent duty to protect the public from spreading the virus ourselves.   

DOF will follow CDC requirements regarding face coverings:  When our employees are in a public setting or 
having face-to-face interactions with the public, whether in the office or the field, they are to be wearing face 
coverings.   

Wear a mask when you are:  
• in a public place such as a grocery store, pharmacy, etc.   
• at an incident briefing or interacting with the public.   
• in a vehicle with others; and   
• moving around the office, or at an in-person meeting. If you’re in your office or at your workspace, and 

can maintain a 6’ distance from others, you are not required to wear a mask.  

mailto:thomas.greiling@alaska.gov
https://covid19.alaska.gov/health-advisories/#1
https://covid19.alaska.gov/health-advisories/#1
http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/COVID-19_Agency_Operation_Guidelines.pdf
http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/COVID-19_Agency_Operation_Guidelines.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prevent-getting-sick/about-face-coverings.html
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When in the workplace, the following should be adhered to by all DOF personnel:  
1. Face coverings should be worn at times you are moving around the office, or at an in-person meeting.   

Two face masks per employee are available and are expected to be used.  
2. Wearing a face covering may be difficult during some activities, such as driving long distances. DOF will 

treat this as a respectful workplace situation. If an employee is not comfortable with others not wearing 
a face covering, they may ask everyone to cover their faces.  

3. When DOF staff are in the workplace, they need to have a face covering on their person and be ready to 
use it in any situation where they are not at their work space and around others that are not in their 
family.  

For a PDF of a sign requesting employees to wear a mask in the workplace, see Appendix C.  

Face coverings should be laundered daily and should not be distracting or offensive to others. The CDC provides 
information on how to select, wear, and clean your mask. CDC recommends: 

• Wear masks with two or more layers to stop the spread of COVID-19. 
• Wear the mask over your nose and mouth and secure it under your chin. 
• Masks should be worn by people two years and older. 
• Masks should NOT be worn by children younger than two, people who have trouble breathing, or people 

who cannot remove the mask without assistance. 
• Do NOT wear masks intended for healthcare workers, for example, N95 respirators. 
• CDC does not recommend the use of face shields alone. Evaluation of face shields is ongoing but 

effectiveness is unknown at this time. 
• Evaluation of mask and gaiter materials and structure is ongoing. 

 
Wearing a face covering: (CDC guidelines) 

• Wash your hands before putting on your mask 
• Put it over your nose and mouth and secure it under your chin 
• Try to fit it snugly against the sides of your face 
• Make sure you can breathe easily 
• CDC does not recommend use of masks or cloth masks for source control if they have an exhalation 

valve or vent 
 

Physical/Social Distancing and Hand Hygiene:  
• Minimize your contact with others as much as possible through proper social distancing. 

o Increase distance between yourself and other mission-essential employees within your 
workspace as much as possible. 

o Limit conversations with other mission essential employees and stand as far apart as possible. 
o Do not hold large, in-person meetings. 

• Clean your hands often. 
o Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds. 
o If soap and water are not readily available, use a hand sanitizer that contains at least 60% 

alcohol. 
o Avoid touching your eyes, nose, and mouth with unwashed hands.  
o Wash your hands after touching your face.  

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prevent-getting-sick/about-face-coverings.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prevent-getting-sick/how-to-wear-cloth-face-coverings.html
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• Clean and disinfect frequently touched surfaces daily, including tables, doorknobs, light switches, 
handles, desk phones, and keyboards. 

Personal Contact Tracking to Assist Contact Tracing. All employees who are not fully vaccinated, and do 
not stay 6 feet apart from others or wear face coverings when near others should keep a contact log every day 
to assist in contact tracing, in case they come into contact with someone who tests positive for COVID. If 
employees consistently wear a face mask and maintain social distancing, it’s not necessary to keep a contact log 
unless the employee is traveling. Please see Appendix E. for a Personal Tracking form.  

For more information, see the DHSS web page on contact tracing, and the CDC’s page on contact tracing.  

IV. Employee COVID-19 Evaluations 
Employee Screening  
All personnel are strongly recommended to undergo a screening process daily to check their health on a routine 
basis, both objectively and subjectively. This applies to all employees on DOF premises, including vendors that 
access facilities and have contact with our staff. For a paper screening tool, see Appendix B, or go to the DOF 
COVID webpage for a link to a sample JotForm electronic screening tool. Email alison.arians@alaska.gov for a 
cloned copy of this tool for your own group.  

The goal is a culture where a “Health and Safety Minute” is a routine part of every day. Your Minute can include 
safety stand-downs on a rotating basis, giving personnel time intervals to make an individual health report and 
decontaminate all work equipment and supplies.  

Key categories for screening all personnel:  
• Travel history: Has the employee or their crew/team members travelled in the last 14 days?  
• Contact: Has the employee been in close contact with someone with COVID-19 (within 6 feet for 15+ 

minutes within a 24-hour period)? 
o Note: fully-vaccinated employees (2 weeks after their final vaccine dose) need not quarantine 

after exposure.  
• Symptomatic: Does the employee have any respiratory symptoms—i.e., shortness of breath, or 

difficulty breathing? Does the employee have a fever or chills, fatigue or muscle/body aches? A cough, 
sore throat, congestion, headache or runny nose? Does the employee have nausea, diarrhea, loss of 
appetite, or new loss of taste/smell? You can check the current list of CDC symptoms. 
 

Follow the process below without exception as you report for work:  
1. If you are symptomatic, stay home. Call your supervisor to discuss your sick leave options and to keep 

the chain of command informed. When your condition improves, call your supervisor before returning 
to work. If you have symptoms consistent with COVID-19, see Symptomatic Employees section, below. 

2. For all buildings, every door is an exit, but there is only one dedicated entrance. Each door should have a 
sign with instructions on how to proceed into the facility.  

3. At the beginning of workday, employees entering the work site are strongly recommended to complete 
a screening and self-check at the designated location to determine if symptomatic or not symptomatic.   
They must notify their section lead, verifying that they have completed a self-check. The command staff 
should:  

a. Designate an entry point and screening area for incoming employees to enter the station. 
b. Establish a process wherein employees reporting for work enter and screen one at a time in a 

controlled environment.  

http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/Epi/id/Pages/COVID-19/contacttracing.aspx
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/daily-life-coping/contact-tracing.html
http://forestry.alaska.gov/covid
http://forestry.alaska.gov/covid
mailto:alison.arians@alaska.gov
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/symptoms-testing/symptoms.html
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c. The Section Lead or their designee is responsible for ensuring that employees arriving at work 
follow current out-of-state travel guidelines (See travel information on the following pages) and 
the symptom screening criteria listed below. 

d. Temperature screening/Other Symptoms screening:  
i. To be performed with an oral thermometer or infrared thermometer that is 
designated solely for that task. The thermometer should be decontaminated after each 
use using alcohol wipes or standard disinfectant.  
ii. Fever is defined as 38 ⁰C / 100.4 ⁰F (or higher).  
iii. Temperature screening must be done upon arrival for duty, at the halfway point 
of the work period, and at the end of the shift.  
iv. Complete screening questions for other symptoms (see below). 
v. Complete log for each employee that is kept confidential. 

4. If a staff member has one or more of the following symptoms, have them immediately put on a face 
covering, leave the location and return to their vehicle, and call their supervisor to report their 
symptoms. Their supervisor should send them directly home for self-quarantine and testing. For further 
guidance, see Symptomatic Employees section, below.  

a. A recorded fever of 38 ⁰C / 100.4 ⁰F (or greater), or they have experienced symptoms in the past 
24 hours that could represent fever, such as unexplained chills.  

b. A condition causing an employee to have episodes of sneezing, or nose blowing not controlled 
by simple over the counter medication or patient’s own prescription.  

c. Sore throat associated with fever.  
d. An uncontrolled cough such that the employee is likely to cough when among colleagues or a 

cough lasting more than two weeks and not under the care of a health care professional.  
e. New onset or ongoing common cold or Influenza-like illness (such as fever and cough, or 

shortness of breath).  
f. Any diarrhea associated with an acute illness.  
g. Body aches and pains of a presumed infectious cause.  

Symptomatic employees who test negative 
Symptomatic employees must obtain a COVID-19 test as soon as possible. If the employee’s test results are 
negative, and their fever has resolved for at least 72 hours (no fever without fever-reducing medications), the 
employee may return to work. See #10 of Coronavirus (Covid-19) FAQ For State of Alaska Employees.  
 
See the following section for the list of what to do while you wait for your test results. (While you are suspected 
to have COVID-19.)   
 
If an employee tests positive  
If an employee’s COVID test results are positive, whether or not they have symptoms, they need to isolate1 for 
at least 10 days at home. They may return to work after 10 days if their fever has resolved for at least 72 hours, 
and all symptoms are resolved.  The employee must telework or use COVID leave during isolation. If confirmed 
positive, CDC recommends close contacts who are not fully-vaccinated to isolate and monitor for symptoms as 
well. 
 
  

 
1 Isolation separates sick people with a contagious disease from people who are not sick. For more information: 
www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/if-you-are-sick/isolation.html 

https://doa.alaska.gov/dop/directorsOffice/covid19/faq/
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/Epi/id/SiteAssets/Pages/HumanCoV/Whattodo_suspectedorconfirmed.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/if-you-are-sick/isolation.html?fbclid=IwAR1krmPtGIXDeh8a3zOy60G8zX6qMB-jJiuh37k3pwATDv-KX09FoLEQQ0k
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What to do if you have confirmed or suspected COVID-19:  
• Stay home except to get medical care  

o You should restrict activities outside your home, except for getting medical care.  
o Do not go to work, school, or public areas.  
o Avoid using public transportation, ride-sharing, or taxis.  

• Separate yourself from other people and animals in your home  
o People: As much as possible, you should stay in a specific room and away from other people in your 

home. Use a separate bathroom, if available.  
o Animals: You should restrict contact with pets and other animals while suspected or confirmed with 

COVID-19. When possible, have another member of your household care for your animals; if you 
must care for your pet, wash your hands before and after you interact with pets and wear a 
facemask. See COVID-19 and Animals for more information.  

• Call ahead before visiting your doctor  
o If you have a medical appointment, call the healthcare provider and tell them that you have or may 

have COVID-19. This will help the healthcare provider’s office take steps to keep other people from 
getting infected or exposed.  

• Wear a facemask  
o You should wear a facemask when you are around other people (e.g., sharing a room or vehicle) or 

pets and before you enter a healthcare provider’s office.  
o If you are not able to wear a facemask (for example, because it causes trouble breathing), then 

people who live with you should not be in the same room with you, or they should wear a facemask 
if they enter your room.  

• Cover your coughs and sneezes  
o Cover your mouth and nose with a tissue when you cough or sneeze.  
o Throw used tissues in a lined trash can; immediately wash your hands with soap and water for at 

least 20 seconds or clean your hands with an alcohol-based hand sanitizer that contains at least 60 
to 95% alcohol, covering all surfaces of your hands and rubbing them together until they feel dry.  

o Soap and water is preferred if hands are visibly dirty.  
• Avoid sharing personal household items  

o You should not share dishes, drinking glasses, cups, eating utensils, towels, or bedding with other 
people or pets in your home.  

o After using these items, they should be washed thoroughly with soap and water. 
• Clean your hands often  

o Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds.  
o If soap and water are not available, clean your hands with an alcohol-based hand sanitizer that 

contains at least 60% alcohol, covering all surfaces of your hands and rubbing them together until 
they feel dry.  

o Soap and water is preferred if hands are visibly dirty.  
o Avoid touching your eyes, nose, and mouth with unwashed hands.  

• Clean all “high-touch” surfaces every day  
o High touch surfaces include counters, tabletops, doorknobs, bathroom fixtures, toilets, phones, 

keyboards, tablets, and bedside tables.  
o Also, clean any surfaces that may have blood, stool, or body fluids on them.  
o Use a household cleaning spray or wipe, according to the label instructions.  
o Labels contain instructions for safe and effective use of the cleaning product including precautions 

you should take when applying the product, such as wearing gloves and making sure you have good 
ventilation during use of the product.  

http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/Epi/id/SiteAssets/Pages/HumanCoV/Whattodo_suspectedorconfirmed.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/faq.html#animals
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• Monitor your symptoms  
o Seek prompt medical attention if your illness is worsening (e.g., difficulty breathing).  
o Before seeking care, call your healthcare provider and tell them that you have, or are being 

evaluated for, COVID-19.  
o Put on a facemask before you enter the facility. These steps will help the healthcare provider’s office 

to keep other people in the office or waiting room from getting infected or exposed.  
• Ask your healthcare provider to call the local or state health department to discuss your situation.  

o If you have a medical emergency and need to call 911, notify the dispatch personnel that you have, 
or may have COVID19.  

o If possible, put on a facemask before emergency medical services arrive.  
• Discontinuing home isolation  

o Patients with confirmed COVID-19 should remain under home isolation precautions until the risk of 
secondary transmission to others is thought to be low.  

o The decision to discontinue home isolation precautions will be made on a case-by-case basis, in 
consultation with healthcare providers and state and local public health officials. 

 
Screening for new hires 
Areas should screen employees when they physically show up to work. When EFFs are taking a new assignment, 
they should be screened at that office. 

Screening for emergency hires 
If it is possible to screen contractors and emergency hires, do so, but it might not be possible to screen people 
during an Initial Attack response. DOF staff should do the best they can to enforce Division and Area protocols 
and mitigations, such as asking all employees (contractors and emergency hires included) to wear face coverings 
when practical, keep a 6-foot distance from each other outside of the module, wash hands, clean surfaces, 
sanitize shared equipment, and screen daily. DOF does not have the authority to require contractors to follow 
these guidelines, but we can request it if time and opportunity allow.  

Supervisors: Determining Risk for Exposure 
In the setting of COVID-19, employee screening provides a critical role in determining the risk of exposure for all 
personnel involved in the workplace.  

Supervisors’ authority to send home employees exhibiting flu-like or COVID-19 symptoms [SOA Dept of Law] 
When a supervisor reasonably believes, based on objective evidence, that an employee is experiencing 
symptoms akin to COVID-19 (according to the CDC: fever, cough, and shortness of breath), the supervisor can 
send the employee home. The supervisor may make inquiries about the employee’s medical condition and may 
require an employee submit to a medical examination. Those inquiries and/or examinations must be reasonably 
effective methods of achieving the State’s goal of combatting the pandemic. The Department of Administration 
highly recommends supervisors document their observations and reasons for sending an employee home, and 
how those reasons help achieve the State’s goal of combatting COVID-19. 
 
By reporting for duty and completing the screening, each employee affirms to the on-duty Supervisor (Section 
Lead or Designee) that they do not have any of the symptoms listed above.  
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EMPLOYEE EXPOSURE 
The March 8, 2021 CDC guidelines  states that fully-vaccinated people (2 weeks after the final dose) can “refrain 
from quarantine and testing following a known exposure if asymptomatic.”  
 
If an unvaccinated employee has had a confirmed exposure2 to COVID-19, including the two days before the 
person with the positive test shows symptoms or tests positive, they must quarantine3 at home. See the How 
Long to Quarantine section on the following pages for specific instructions.  
 
Unvaccinated employees must follow these guidelines after a confirmed exposure:  

1. Put on a mask, go to your vehicle, notify your supervisor that you have been exposed to COVID, and go 
home to self-quarantine. See the How Long to Quarantine section on the following pages for specific 
instructions.  

2. To schedule a test, go to the State of Alaska’s testing site locator to find the best testing site for you. In 
the coming weeks, DHSS will provide information on the contractors who will provide testing and 
vaccines for DOF personnel.  

3. All community COVID-19 testing is fully covered by ANY insurance plan and is provided free to uninsured 
individuals.  

4. DHSS will have contractors in place for testing state employees.  
5. If you get a positive test result, see the section above called “If an employee tests positive.”  
6. If you are an EFF and can’t work from home, you may apply for SOA COVID-19 Leave. You will need to fill 

out the Verification Form for Paid Leave due to Coronavirus.  
7. Please note that your cost for testing will be covered only if you were exposed while doing on-duty 

activities. If you are unsure if the exposure happened during duty hours, please contact your supervisor 
to discuss and seek approval for DOF-paid testing. However, many communities offer free testing for 
community members.  

 
How long to quarantine after a close contact with COVID 
New guidance for vaccinated people was issued by the CDC on March 8, 2021. The requirement to quarantine 
after a close contact with someone who has COVID-19 (within 6 ft of an infected person for at least 15 minutes 
within a 24-hour period) depends on whether you are fully vaccinated.  

• You are considered fully vaccinated for COVID-19 ≥2 weeks after you have received the second dose in a 
2-dose series (Pfizer-BioNTech or Moderna), or ≥2 weeks after you have received a single-dose vaccine 
(Johnson and Johnson [J&J]/Janssen).  

 
If you are fully vaccinated 
If you are fully vaccinated (see paragraph above), you need not quarantine after a close contact with COVID-19 if 
you are asymptomatic.  
 
  

 
2 A confirmed exposure is being coughed or sneezed on, hugged by, or being within 6 feet for 15 minutes within a 24-hour 
period of a person who has tested positive for COVID.  
3 Quarantine separates and restricts the movement of people who were exposed to a contagious disease to see if they 
become sick. For more information: www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/if-you-are-sick/quarantine.html 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/fully-vaccinated-guidance.html
https://coronavirus-response-alaska-dhss.hub.arcgis.com/app/2d92b77bc8044329a1ee3954b063bd8c
http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/PAID_LEAVE_COVID19_VERIFICATION_FORM.pdf
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/fully-vaccinated-guidance.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/if-you-are-sick/quarantine.html?fbclid=IwAR1krmPtGIXDeh8a3zOy60G8zX6qMB-jJiuh37k3pwATDv-KX09FoLEQQ0k
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If you are NOT fully vaccinated 
According to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a 14-day quarantine period is still the 
safest quarantine duration; however, based on emerging science, CDC has issued updated guidance to provide 
two acceptable alternatives to shorten the quarantine period. See the table below.  

• If testing is available, you may be able to end your quarantine after 7 days of quarantine, on the 8th day. 
You can take a COVID-19 test within 48 hours prior when you hope to end your quarantine (on day 6 or 
7). You must continue to quarantine until your test comes back negative, which may be longer than 7 
days. Even if your test is negative and you end quarantine, you must continue to wear a mask when 
around others and monitor for symptoms for the full 14 days. If you develop any symptoms or your test 
result is positive, you must self-isolate. 

• If testing is not readily available, quarantine for a full 10 days after you were exposed. You may end your 
quarantine on day 11 if you do not develop symptoms. You must continue to wear a mask when around 
others and monitor for symptoms for the full 14 days. Self-isolate if you develop symptoms and get 
tested. 

Options to reduce quarantine period for close contacts. 

  Option 1 Option 2 

7-day Quarantine + Test 10-day Quarantine 

What type of test is required and when 
should it be obtained? 

Molecular or antigen; specimen must 
be collected <48 hours before the 

time of planned quarantine 
discontinuation (i.e., on day 6 or 7 of 

quarantine) 

No Test Required 

Can quarantine be further shortened with a 
negative test result? No No 

When is the earliest that a person can be 
released from quarantine and go back to 
work or school? 

8 days after exposure with a negative 
test result 11 days after exposure 

What should patients do if they haven’t 
gotten their test result back before the time 
of planned quarantine discontinuation? 

Remain in quarantine until they get a 
negative test result or 10 days have 

passed, whichever is earlier 
No Test Required 

Estimated residual post-quarantine 
transmission risk 

5% (upper limit: 12%) 1% (upper limit: 10%) 

What added precautions should people take 
after being released from quarantine under 
option 1 or 2? 

Take extra precautions until 14 days after exposure: watch for 
symptoms, wear a mask when in public areas, avoid crowds, 

maintain 6-foot distance from others, wash hands frequently, 
avoid any contact with high-risk persons, discuss with employer 

whether it is safe to return to work. 

Notes: 
1. The above options are only for contacts who have remained asymptomatic for the entire duration of 

their quarantine. Anyone who develops symptoms within 14 days of an exposure (regardless of whether 
or not they remain in quarantine) should immediately self-isolate and seek testing. 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/more/scientific-brief-options-to-reduce-quarantine.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/more/scientific-brief-options-to-reduce-quarantine.html
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2. Persons can continue to be quarantined for 14 days per existing CDC recommendations; this option 
maximally reduces the risk of post-quarantine transmission and is the strategy with the greatest 
collective experience at present. 

--From Alaska DHSS Quarantine Guidance.  

Worker’s Compensation 
If an employee reasonably believes they were exposed to COVID in the workplace, they can apply for worker’s 
compensation. The CDC defines “reasonably” as being in close contact with an infected person (within 6 ft of an 
infected person for at least 15 minutes within a 24-hour period) in the workplace.  
 
It is the responsibility of both the employee and management to complete the Report of Injury (ROI). Worker’s 
Compensation (WC) will determine that employee’s eligibility.  The ROI must be completed regardless of 
whether an employee can telework.   
 
Patient Advocacy 
Employees being demobilized and in need of quarantine and/or isolation outside of the home unit will need 
logistical support for lodging and meals during their quarantine and/or isolation. The Area will communicate 
with the home unit about how to compensate costs and ensure that support will be provided. Daily contact 
should be maintained to determine patient status and needs. 
 
Hospital Liaisons and COVID-19 Patients: For DOF employees who are treated for COVID-19 at a hospital 
emergency room, medical clinic, etc., a hospital liaison will be assigned to the individual employee in need of 
medical treatment. This is no different than any other typical medical treatment for DOF employees. The 
hospital liaison is typically provided by the incident when an Incident Management Team (IMT) is assigned. For 
cases when an IMT is not assigned, the hospital liaison will be arranged by the hiring agency office, forest, ranger 
station, etc. It is critical that the assigned hospital liaison or patient advocate be established immediately as this 
is the primary person who will communicate with medical staff on behalf of the incident and/or employee’s 
agency. The appropriate DOF home unit managers and Division Safety Officer will need contact information for 
the hospital liaison and will need to be in communication regarding patient status at all times. All policies and 
procedures for the notification process still apply.   

Testing asymptomatic employees 
As of December 2020, Alaska DHSS continues to recommend testing for all individuals who have been identified 
as close contacts to individuals who have tested positive for COVID-19.  

The CDC’s guidance from March 8, 2021 states that fully-vaccinated people need not be tested after a known 
exposure if asymptomatic.  

Please see the How Long to Quarantine section on the previous pages for specific length of time to quarantine.  

Testing asymptomatic people during their quarantine period helps to identify those who are infected with the 
virus, their need to be in isolation, and the need to notify and quarantine their close contacts. 

Some communities are offering free testing for community members. You can find out more about testing 
opportunities on the State of Alaska’s testing site locator. 

  

http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/Epi/id/Pages/COVID-19/exposed.aspx#duration
https://labor.alaska.gov/wc/forms/wc6100.doc
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/fully-vaccinated-guidance.html
https://coronavirus-response-alaska-dhss.hub.arcgis.com/app/2d92b77bc8044329a1ee3954b063bd8c
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TRAVEL  
Protocol for DOF employee travel 
As of February 14th, Alaska DHSS’s COVID-19 Response and Recovery Health Advisory Number 2 guides travel 
within and in and out of Alaska. It is highly recommend that all DOF employees follow the advisory as detailed 
below, to keep our communities and other DOF employees safe from COVID-19.  

Any person currently positive with COVID-19 cannot travel to Alaska until they have been released from 
isolation or cleared for travel by a medical provider or public health agency. 

ALL travelers are highly advised to pre-test for COVID (molecular-based test) up to 72 hours before travel and 
upload the results to Alaska Travel Portal, bring a physical copy of results, and fill out personal information on 
Alaska Travel Portal.  

For travelers coming to Alaska, or between communities in Alaska, DHSS has set up COVID-19 testing and 
vaccinations for the upcoming travel season at all airports with inbound flights from outside Alaska (including 
Anchorage, Fairbanks, Juneau and Ketchikan). All testing at the airport is 100% free of charge, whether or not 
you are an Alaska resident.  
 
DHSS is working to set up a contractor that will perform testing and vaccinations of incoming fire resources upon 
arrival, and for testing and vaccinations as needed in the field.  

 
Exemption for Fully Vaccinated Individuals  
Fully-vaccinated travelers should follow pre-travel testing protocols, but do not need to follow strict social 
distancing while awaiting test results.  

• “Fully-vaccinated” is defined as more than two weeks following receipt of the second dose in a two-dose 
series, or more than two weeks following receipt of one dose of a single-dose vaccine. 

 
International, interstate, and intrastate travelers:  

• Should read available information regarding travel to Alaska and COVID-19 protocols before arrival. 
• Complete a Travel Declaration Form in the Alaska Travel Portal.  

 
Travelers arriving in Alaska from outside the state should do one of the following:  

a. DOF strongly recommends that travelers get vaccinated before coming to Alaska.  
b. Test with results. Pre-travel molecular-based test for SARS-CoV2 with negative results: The traveler 

should submit negative test results from a test taken within 72 hours of departure into the Alaska 
Travel Portal or have proof of a negative test available to show screeners at the airport upon arrival.  

i. A second test taken between five and 14 days after arrival is also strongly recommended. 

c. Test without results yet. Pre-travel molecular-based test for SARS-Co V2 without results: The 
traveler should submit proof of a test taken within 72 hours of departure into the Alaska Travel 
Portal, or have proof available of having taken a test to show screeners at the airport. 

i. Unless fully vaccinated, the traveler should follow strict social distancing until test 
results are available.  

ii. The traveler should upload test results to the Alaska Travel Portal when received, 
regardless of the test result (negative or positive).  

iii. The traveler is recommended to obtain a second test 5–14 days after arrival.  

https://covid19.alaska.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/02.14.21-Health-Advisory-2-International-and-Interstate-Travel.pdf
https://www.alaska.covidsecureapp.com/
https://www.alaska.covidsecureapp.com/
https://www.alaska.covidsecureapp.com/
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iv. If the molecular-based test for SARS-CoV2 result is positive, the traveler must remain in 
self-isolation at their own expense. The traveler must contact the State of Alaska (1-800-
478-0084) and must not travel until cleared by Public Health. 

d. No test yet. No pre-travel molecular-based test for SARS-CoV2: If a non-resident traveler (aged 11 
years or older) arrives in Alaska without proof of a negative test result or proof of a test taken within 
72 hours of departure, they should test at the airport.  

i. Unless fully vaccinated, the traveler should follow strict social distancing until test 
results are available.  

ii. Unless fully vaccinated, the traveler should obtain a second test 5–14 days after arrival.  

e. Recovered from COVID. Prior confirmed positive results within 90 days of departure: No molecular-
based test for SARS-CoV2 is required for any traveler, either immediately before travel or upon 
arrival, if the following conditions are met: 

i. The traveler provides proof of a previously positive result of a molecular-based test for 
SARS-Co V2 within 90 days of departure; and 

ii. The traveler is currently asymptomatic.  
 

If the COVID-19 test result is positive, the traveler must remain in self-isolation. Follow the guidelines under “If 
an employee tests positive.”  
 
If you are fully-vaccinated, you do not need to strict social distance after travel. Strict social distancing is 
defined by DHSS as:  

• You may be in an outdoor public place, but stay six feet away from anyone not in your immediate 
household and wear a face covering. 

• You may arrange curbside shopping or have food delivery. 
• Do not take public transportation during the time you are practicing strict social distancing.  
• Please do not enter restaurants, bars, gyms, community centers, sporting facilities (i.e., ice rinks, 

gymnasiums, sports domes), office buildings, school or daycare facilities. 
• Do not participate in any group activities, including sporting events and practices, weddings, 

funerals, or other gatherings. 
 
While many DOF employees must travel for work, the CDC recommends that you do not travel if it is not 
necessary. Air travel requires spending time in security lines and airport terminals, which can bring you in close 
contact with other people and frequently touched surfaces. Most viruses and other germs do not spread easily 
on flights because of how air is circulated and filtered on airplanes. However, social distancing is difficult on 
crowded flights and sitting within 6 feet of others, sometimes for hours, may increase your risk of getting 
COVID-19. How you get to and from the airport, such as with public transportation and ridesharing, can also 
increase your chances of being exposed to the virus.  
 
The CDC recommends, if you must travel, take steps to protect yourself and others: 

• If you are eligible, get fully vaccinated for COVID-19. 
• Before you travel, get tested with a viral test 1-3 days before your trip. 
• Wear a mask over your nose and mouth when in public. 
• Avoid crowds and stay at least 6 feet/2 meters (about 2 arm lengths) from anyone who did not travel 

with you. 
• Get tested 3-5 days after your trip and, if possible, stay home and self-quarantine for a full 7 days after 

travel, even if your test is negative. If you don’t get tested, stay home and self-quarantine for 10 days 
after travel. 

http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/Epi/id/Pages/COVID-19/socialdistancing.aspx#:%7E:text=The%20mandate%20states%20that%20strict,7%2D14%20days%20after%20arrival.
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/travelers/travel-during-covid19.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/travelers/travel-during-covid19.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/daily-life-coping/using-transportation.html#PublicTransit
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• Follow all state and local recommendations or requirements after travel. 
 
Guidelines for Lower 48 Resources traveling to Alaska  
Nonresident fire resources should adhere to the guidelines above, but DOF recommends that they arrive in 
Alaska ready to work, without first requiring strict social distancing.  
 
DOF recommends that travelers 1) be fully vaccinated, and 2) get tested within 72 hours of departure and 
receive negative results by the time they arrive in Alaska (section a, above).  

• Fire suppression resources are to travel and arrive at the receiving unit with an initial supply of 
specialized PPE, hand sanitizer and disinfecting supplies. Personnel should plan to travel self-sufficient 
for three days. 

• Incoming resources, if not fully-vaccinated, will track their physical contacts from the time of departure 
from their home unit throughout their assignment. 

• Resources will wear the proper personal protective equipment and practice social distancing when 
possible. 

• Resources will be self-sufficient and directed by resource order as to reporting requirements. If not fully 
vaccinated, single resources are likely to be required to obtain a vehicle, self-quarantine in a hotel, and 
report to their ordering unit, minimizing contacts. 

• If directed by resource order (generally multiple people), resources may be picked up at the airport by 
designated agency personnel with pre-arranged logistical support (lodging, transportation, subsistence). 
Personal protective equipment will always be worn during these transports.  

• If not fully-vaccinated, workers who are tested at the airports will remain in quarantine in either 
Anchorage or Fairbanks until test results are returned. They will continue on to their work site and 
adhere to protocols in this Handbook.  

 
Leave eligibility for quarantine before test results 
Note: According to DHSS Health Advisory 2, fully-vaccinated people need not follow strict social distancing after 
testing.   

If an unvaccinated traveler has not gotten a COVID test 72 hours before departure to Alaska and received 
negative results, while waiting for their first test results, DOF employees and EFF should quarantine at home. For 
five days, they should follow strict social distancing, which also requires the employee to work remotely.  A 
second test taken between five and 14 days after arrival is recommended, but not required. 

• EFF employees are not eligible for COVID leave for this quarantine and strict social distancing period.  
• Seasonal workers are not eligible for COVID leave after seasonal layoff.  
• Full-time DOF employees should telework from home if they can during this quarantine and strict social 

distancing period. If teleworking is not an option, DOF employees are eligible for COVID leave, and 
should fill out the Verification Form to submit to Payroll.  

• The SOA COVID-19 Leave Policy provides up to 10 days (75/80 hours for a full-time employee) at a time 
of paid leave for eligible employees due to a need for leave because the employee is unable to work 
remotely (telework). Employees will need to submit a Verification Form for Paid Leave due to 
Coronavirus. 

Supervisors cannot fully monitor what the employee does or doesn’t do relative to the travel mandate that 
applies to Alaska residents returning to Alaska; however, we can direct the employee not to enter the workplace 
until they have complied. 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/travelers/travel-planner/index.html
https://covid19.alaska.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/02.14.21-Health-Advisory-2-International-and-Interstate-Travel.pdf
https://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/PAID_LEAVE_COVID19_VERIFICATION_FORM.pdf
http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/COVID_19_LEAVE_Policy.pdf
https://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/PAID_LEAVE_COVID19_VERIFICATION_FORM.pdf
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MOBILIZATION TO LOWER 48  
Alaskans taking L48 assignments 
Chief of Fire Norm McDonald prepared a memo for the 2020 season that was used by employees to help them 
decide whether and where to take fire assignments in the Lower 48. Chief McDonald will issue a new memo for 
2021 by May 1st to address the 2021 season. COVID risks in the Lower 48 may be greater than in Alaska, and our 
employees need to be aware of the potential risks in each geographical location and with each jurisdictional and 
protection agency. The memo addresses the following:  
 
• Pre acceptance of assignment 

o Determine what state and agency an employee’s order is for and provide as much information as we 
can, including COVID-related data, opportunities for vaccination, mitigations, and plans. We will arm 
our staff with knowledge.  

o Ensure the employee has the needed PPE to be self-sufficient while on assignment. Masks, hand 
sanitizer and cleaning supplies and most importantly, training. 

o Ensure the employee understands the benefits of vaccination, and the risks of not being vaccinated 
before traveling.  

• Acceptance of assignment 
o Provide clear direction and guidance should one of our employees show signs and symptoms when 

on assignment.  
 Will the host agency pay for quarantine expenses (staying in a hotel)?  
 If the employee needs to pay for self-quarantine, do they have the means to accommodate 

that, at least until reimbursement? What are the guidelines for using a OneCard for 
quarantine?  

 Who will pay the costs if an employee needs diagnosis and treatment?  
• Returning from assignment process: see guidelines, below.  
 
Several other resources are also available to help employees evaluate risks of L48 assignments:  

• Some L48 states have posted information about COVID mitigations on the Geographic Area Coordination 
Centers (GACC) website.  

• Harvard Global Health Institute has published a map of COVID risk, by county, of the entire United 
States, so employees can compare the COVID risks by location in the assignments they are considering.  
National Public Radio published an article about the map.  

• The State provides detailed COVID-19 Traveler Information.  

Travel back to the L48 during travel quarantine  
Note: According to DHSS Health Advisory 2, fully-vaccinated people need not follow strict social distancing after 
testing.  

After an unvaccinated DOF employee or EFF returns from the Lower 48, they are encouraged to wait at least for 
their first negative test results before returning to the L48 for another assignment. However, in instances of 
critical need, employees need not wait until their test results are received or strict social distancing is over to go 
back to the Lower 48.  

Traveling from state to state in the L48 
When traveling in the Lower 48 from state to state, the traveler is responsible for determining COVID mandates 
for each state and complying with them.  

  

http://forestry.alaska.gov/Assets/pdfs/covid/2020%20DOF%20Lower%2048%20Assignments%20Memo%207-10-20.pdf
https://gacc.nifc.gov/
https://gacc.nifc.gov/
https://globalepidemics.org/key-metrics-for-covid-suppression/
https://globalepidemics.org/key-metrics-for-covid-suppression/
https://www.npr.org/sections/health-shots/2020/07/01/885263658/green-yellow-orange-or-red-this-new-tool-shows-covid-19-risk-in-your-county
https://covid19.alaska.gov/travelers/
https://covid19.alaska.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/02.14.21-Health-Advisory-2-International-and-Interstate-Travel.pdf
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Paying for a COVID test in the L48 
If required to take a COVID test on a fire assignment, that test should be billed directly to the incident. OneCards 
should not be used for these tests individually or for multiple resources because of the difficulty in reconciling 
these charges. Rather, the incident should arrange testing for its fire resources, especially if testing is required 
while on assignment. Free COVID testing is available for Alaska residents at airports upon arrival if testing cannot 
be done prior to returning to Alaska.  

INTRASTATE TRAVEL 
DEMOBILIZATION 
Returning home after L48 travel  
Note: According to DHSS Health Advisory 2, fully-vaccinated people need not follow strict social distancing after 
testing.  

If an unvaccinated employee or EFF returns from a fire to Anchorage or Fairbanks and needs to travel in a State 
of Alaska vehicle to return to their community (for example, Tok, Soldotna, Delta, etc.) before they have 
received a negative test result, they should drive themselves and travel alone in the vehicle, rather than having 
another employee drive them. As usual, the employee is eligible for per diem until they reach their home office. 
When the vehicle arrives at its destination, it should be sanitized and returned to its home base. The vehicle 
sanitation and vehicle transportation should be charged to the incident, since this is an additional cost to DOF of 
the firefighter’s deployment.  

Health Advisory 3: Intrastate Travel governs travel between communities on and off the road system to help 
prevent the spread of COVID-19. 

• Part A states that local communities are permitted to enact travel restrictions to minimize the spread of 
the COVID-19 virus. 

• Part B will require that unvaccinated travelers within Alaska who travel off of the road system maintain 
social distancing until they produce a negative result from a recent COVID-19 test. The advisory is aimed 
at preventing the spread of COVID-19 between communities. 

 
After intrastate (within Alaska) travel to communities on the road system 
There are no testing mandates for intrastate (within Alaska) travel on the road system or on the Alaska Marine 
Highway system, and each Forestry area is screening employees daily. However, travelers have the option of 
free testing at the airport sites, to prevent bringing the virus into our small communities. Employees may use 
this free testing at their own discretion. If they receive a positive test result, or if they have symptoms or have 
had a suspected or confirmed exposure, see the section “Steps to follow when an employee has symptoms or is 
notified of a positive COVID test.” 
 
Areas should continue doing screening as usual, including screening of recently demobilized employees 
returning to their home area.  
 
Protecting yourself, your family, and your community 
For people coming back into their homes and villages from a fire assignment, here is a list of things to do to 
protect themselves, their families and communities.  
1. Get vaccinated before you travel.  
2. Get tested for COVID at a free testing site at airport sites.  

https://covid19.alaska.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/02.14.21-Health-Advisory-2-International-and-Interstate-Travel.pdf
https://covid19.alaska.gov/health-advisories/#3
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3. If not fully vaccinated, follow strict social distancing for five days after arriving at your destination. A second 
test taken between five and 14 days after arrival is recommended, but not required.  Strict social distancing 
is defined by DHSS as:  

b. You may be in an outdoor public place, but stay six feet away from anyone not in your 
immediate household and wear a face covering. 

c. You may arrange curbside shopping or have food delivery. 
d. Do not take public transportation during the time you are practicing social distancing.  
e. Please do not enter restaurants, bars, gyms, community centers, sporting facilities (i.e., ice rinks, 

gymnasiums, sports domes), office buildings, school or daycare facilities. 
f. Do not participate in any group activities, including sporting events and practices, weddings, 

funerals, or other gatherings 

4. Keep personal tracking/travel record (See Appendix E.)  
5. Identify at-risk family members and develop a home risk exposure plan.  
6. During travel status, wear your mask, wash/sanitize your hands frequently and social distance as much as 

possible in congregate areas. 
7. Avoid social gatherings until you can safely be tested or quarantine until possible transmission window has 

passed upon return. 
8. As much as possible, leave fire gear at the station or in your work vehicle, or make sure to wash immediately 

and keep separate from family laundry/gear. Disinfect all gear. 
9. Plan for yourself and family in case you need to self-quarantine. Examples may include 14 days of money, 

food, hotel, etc.  
10. If symptomatic, you will not be allowed to use forestry facilities, so plan accordingly.  
11. Recommended to change clothes and shower upon return home to protect your family.   
12. Follow return-to-work matrix if you are symptomatic, are a confirmed exposure or have tested positive.   
13. Upon return or during quarantine, update your direct supervisor regularly on status, needs, etc. so we can 

track your progress. If teleworking: update your supervisor frequently. 
 
DOF will adhere to whatever mandates and policies are in place at the time of the travel.   
 
Demob for resources from Alaska to L48 
L48 resources will have guidelines from their own home states on what needs to be done before they arrive 
home, and after they arrive home, in terms of testing and screening. If someone is symptomatic, or has a 
confirmed exposure, they should be tested here in Alaska. (See sections: “Symptomatic employees” and “If an 
employee tests positive” on the previous pages.)  

High risk considerations: 
DOF recommends that people at higher risk of severe illness work remotely if possible and practice social 
distancing in large groups of people as much as possible. People at higher risk include those: 

• over 60 years of age, 
• with underlying health conditions (heart disease, lung disease or diabetes), 
• with weakened immune systems, or 
• who are pregnant.  
 

Teledoc:  
• Teledoc is a great way to consult a doctor or nurse without visiting a hospital or clinic, giving you 24/7/365 

access to health care for non-emergency conditions by web, phone (1-800-Teledoc) or mobile application. 

http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/Epi/id/Pages/COVID-19/socialdistancing.aspx#:%7E:text=The%20mandate%20states%20that%20strict,7%2D14%20days%20after%20arrival.
https://doa.alaska.gov/drb/alaskaCare/employee/teladoc.html
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For example, if you have symptoms of the flu, you can contact Teladoc and a doctor can evaluate and help 
with next steps when necessary.  

• Employees may take work time to set up registration on Teledoc. Get signed up prior to needing the service. 

Emergency Contact Information: Download the emergency contact information excel form, complete it, and 
email it to your admin person and to Joel Del Rosario [joel.delrosario@alaska.gov]. You can also get this Excel 
form from your admin staff.  
 
 

V.  Finance, Coding & Allowable Expenses 
Office Closure Information and Links  

• Phone or Email: Receive notifications by phone or email when you sign-up or manage your GovDelivery 
subscription (select OFFICE CLOSURE list after login). 

• Web/Online: Check Alaska.gov for alert notifications and updates. 
• Facebook: On your home computer and with a person profile, sign up for the SOA Office Closure alerts 

on Facebook and/or Twitter .  
• Hotline: Check the State of Alaska Notification Hotline at 1-877-326-5551 

 (Please note that this telephone link is provided for smart phones and will likely generate an error on a 
land line.) 

 
Timesheet Coding 
The following guidance is subject to change by any applied directive from the Division of Payroll & 
Labor Relations (DOPLR).  

How to use SOA COVID-19 Administrative leave 
During this COVID-19 outbreak, an additional leave code has been created to help identify situations where 
employees can use administrative leave in specific circumstances for 10 work days per circumstance.  

Leave code 19ND has been added for use in specific emergency/disaster situations. This code will be utilized for 
tracking the COVID19 Administrative Leave.  

To have the option to use the COVID-19 Administrative Leave (leave code 19ND) you need to:  
• Meet specific criteria as defined on the Employee Verification for Paid Leave Due to Coronavirus 2019 

form: 
a. You are subject to a Federal, State, or local quarantine or isolation order related toCOVID-19 

(i.e. travel self-quarantine); 
b. You tested positive for COVID-19; 
c. You are experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 and seeking a medical diagnosis.  

• Be unable to telecommute.  
• COVID-19 leave may not be used for illness after vaccination, but personal leave may be used if 

needed.  Managers are encouraged to be flexible with leave, and to allow people to work from home if 
they feel able.  

To use COVID-19 Administrative leave employees must:  
• Complete the Employee Verification for Paid Leave Due to Coronavirus 2019 form and attach it to their 

timesheet along with the leave slip.  
• Select “other” on their leave slip and note the leave code 19ND.  
• Report the leave code 19ND on their timesheet and enter the appropriate LDP Override code.  

http://forestry.alaska.gov/covid
mailto:joel.delrosario@alaska.gov
https://doa.alaska.gov/officeclosures/index.html
https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/AKDOA/subscriber/new
https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/AKDOA/subscriber/new
http://alaska.gov/#alerts
https://www.facebook.com/State-of-Alaska-Office-Closures-130951437021823/
https://twitter.com/SOA_OfficeClose
tel:+18773265551
tel:+18773265551
http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/PAID_LEAVE_COVID19_VERIFICATION_FORM.pdf
http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/PAID_LEAVE_COVID19_VERIFICATION_FORM.pdf
http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/PAID_LEAVE_COVID19_VERIFICATION_FORM.pdf


   
 

23 
 

o Employees must work with their Admin Staff to understand what LDP Override code they need 
to use with the leave reported on their timesheet to make sure the appropriate accounting 
information is reflected.  

If an employee meets the specific criteria as defined on the Employee Verification for Paid Leave Due to 
Coronavirus 2019 form but has the ability to telecommute then:  

• That employee must continue to work from home as long as they are able.  
• If the employee is unable to work and meets the specific criteria as defined on the Employee Verification for 

Paid Leave Due to Coronavirus 2019 form then they can use the leave code 19ND as explained above.  
o Please note: If an employee can work at least part time they can use the 19ND leave code 

intermittently to make up for hours they were unable to work.  

If leave must be taken due to reasons related to COVID-19 that does not meet the specific criteria outlined, 
then employees should use the appropriate accrued leave available to them to take the necessary time off. 
(Sick Leave, Personal Leave, Comp Leave, Flex Leave). Please work with your Admin Staff to make sure you are 
using the appropriate LDP Override code for the event codes being reported since there may be changes 
needed due to accounting concerns related to the COVID-19 outbreak. 
 
If an employee’s leave usage does not relate to COVID-19 in any way then the employee will use the appropriate 
leave code and will not use the corresponding LDP override code.  

How to Add the LDP Override Code to Your Timesheet  
Add the LDP override code to the right of the “Event Code Description”.  

 

 
See the following links for more information on COVID-19 Leave.  

• SOA COVID-19 Leave Policy 
• COVID-19 Leave Usage (PDF) 
• Employee Verification for Paid Leave Due to Coronavirus 2019 (PDF) 
• SOA COVID-19 Resources page  

Does the COVID-19 Leave policy apply to EFF?   
Note: According to DHSS Health Advisory 2, fully-vaccinated people need not follow strict social distancing after 
testing.  

http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/COVID_19_LEAVE_Policy.pdf
http://forestry.alaska.gov/Assets/pdfs/covid/COVID19_Leave_Usage_Guidance.pdf
https://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/PAID_LEAVE_COVID19_VERIFICATION_FORM.pdf
http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/directorsOffice/covid19/
https://covid19.alaska.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/02.14.21-Health-Advisory-2-International-and-Interstate-Travel.pdf
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If EFF meet the criteria under a, b, or c, below, they are eligible for COVID leave. The EFF would need to 
complete the verification form and potentially provide documentation from a health care provider that they 
need to quarantine if they use reason c.   

SOA COVID-19 leave may be taken for the following qualifying reasons: 
a. Being subject to a Federal, State, or local quarantine or isolation order related to COVID-19 (i.e. 

self-quarantine for travel for critical personal needs. See the SOA COVID-19 leave policy for 
definition)  
• Note, employees are not eligible for COVID-19 leave if travel is not in compliance with the 

State of Alaska’s travel mandates. This includes travel that is not for critical personal needs 
or nonessential travel.  

• To be eligible to take COVID -19 leave under (a) above, the individual must have traveled for 
critical personal needs. Critical personal needs are defined: as those needs that are critical 
to meeting a person’s individual or family needs. Those needs include buying, selling, or 
delivering groceries and home goods; obtaining fuel for vehicles or residential needs; 
transporting family members for out-of-home care, essential health needs, or for purposes 
of child custody exchanges; receiving essential health care; providing essential health care to 
a family member; obtaining other important goods; and engaging in subsistence activities. 

b. Testing positive for COVID-19 (Per SOA COVID-19 leave policy) 
c. You are experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 and seeking a medical diagnosis (Per SOA COVID-

19 leave policy) 
 
COVID leave expenditures need to be carefully documented for federal reimbursement through FEMA.  

If an EFF becomes symptomatic on an incident, they may be eligible for subsistence.  
 
Does EFML apply to emergency responders? 
Employees who work in health care or emergency responder positions, as defined by the U.S. Department of 
Labor or identified by their agency, are NOT eligible for EFML. It has been determined by our Director and 
Commissioner that all DOF personnel except for Forest Management, Planning, Cooperative Forestry & 
Inventory fall under the first responder position status. 

Are there limitations on the COVID-19 Leave? Days, hours, criteria? How may any limitations apply to 
emergency responders versus non-emergency responders? 
The SOA COVID-19 Leave Policy provides up to 10 days (75/80 hours for a full-time employee) of paid leave 
for eligible employees at a time due to a need for leave because the employee is unable to work remotely 
(telework). First Responder positions must meet one of the criteria under sections a,b,or c.  

Under the State’s COVID-19 policy, a leave-eligible employee may be eligible for additional SOA COVID-19 
leave if the leave is taken due to the following reasons: 

a. Being subject to a Federal, State, or local quarantine or isolation order related to COVID-19 (i.e.  
self-quarantine for essential travel. See the SOA COVID-19 leave policy for definition of essential 
travel.)  

b. Testing positive for COVID-19 (Per SOA COVID-19 leave policy) 
c. You are experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 and seeking a medical diagnosis (Per SOA COVID-

19 leave policy) 

Individuals are encouraged to seek guidance and work directly with their Supervisor and DNR Human 
Resources regarding individual conditions or circumstance. 

https://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/PAID_LEAVE_COVID19_VERIFICATION_FORM.pdf
https://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/COVID_19_LEAVE_Policy.pdf
https://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/COVID_19_LEAVE_Policy.pdf
https://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/COVID_19_LEAVE_Policy.pdf
https://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/COVID_19_LEAVE_Policy.pdf
https://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/COVID_19_LEAVE_Policy.pdf
https://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/COVID_19_LEAVE_Policy.pdf
https://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/COVID_19_LEAVE_Policy.pdf
https://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/COVID_19_LEAVE_Policy.pdf
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ALL Other Personal Services that do not apply to the above scenarios:  
COVID-19 LDPs (Labor Distribution Profiles): COVID-19 LDPs are to be used ONLY for COVID-19 time 
spent working on virus-related activities. At this point, the only staff charging work hours to a COVID-19 
LDP will be those assigned to the COVID-19 Response Team, and possibly a few support people preparing 
Resource Orders. If people are teleworking for their normal function, they should remain charging to 
their normal COR (Code of Record).  
If you are working on COVID-19 response, your code will depend on your usual tasks, as follows: 

• #3009 -Forest Management and Development   
• #3018- Fire Preparedness - 
• #3722 -Fire Activity (must complete CTR each pay period) 

Note: the “#” is part of the LDP, so do not omit that.  

Example of how to record regular hours on timesheet: 
In the lower left-hand section of timesheet, select regular pay and input your associated LDP number.  

 
To help payroll, please include additional notes in the comment section located at the bottom of your 
timesheet. 

 

 
Hazard Pay 
Hazard pay is not currently covered in the Alaska Incident Business Management Handbook (AIBMH) 
and bargaining unit contracts. See AIBMH language below: 

Hazard pay is addressed in GGU Article 21.05 B., LTC Article 13.06 D., and SU Article 24.5 A. To 
provide clarification about Forestry’s operations, two types of activities are considered when 
working under a helicopter. Those two activities include 1) hover hook-ups, and 2) loading or 
unloading people or equipment when the helicopter rotors are in motion. See State Forester memo 
of August 17, 2007 (Appendix C) for more information. 

COVID-19 Allowable Expenses: 
What should we be keeping track of for COVID expenses? Personnel time and extra expenditures for 
materials. Document all of this for later reimbursement. Keep in mind that all expenses charged to COVID-19 
for FEMA purposes will need to be well documented and will only be reimbursed by FEMA upon review and 
approval. 

Procurement: Code to your normal area template/task, and be sure to include activity code CV19. 
• Disinfectant wipes, gloves and other cleaning supplies, masks for staff on the fire line and other items 

that we would not normally purchase without COVID-19 in the mix, OR quantify the supplemental 
purchase intended specifically for COVID-19. 

• *The above are basic examples. Any further resources can be defined. 

http://forestry.alaska.gov/fire/aibmh
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Example of coding: 

 
 
 
Recording time during quarantine 
L-48 resources who have been tested upon arrival and are quarantining while they wait for the test results will 
continue in travel status until they arrive on station where they are ordered. They can be paid for 8 hours, or 
what their normal work day would be. If they are in quarantine part of a day and then are clear to continue on 
to their assignment, they would get a combination of worked hours and guaranteed hours to give them a 
minimum of 8 hours.  
 
Coding for L-48 resources who test positive for COVID 
If a L-48 resource tests positive at some point (whether on arrival, during their assignment, or before returning 
home), charges for testing, lodging, per diem, and any other charges would go to the fire number or prepo that 
they are assigned to.  
 
VI. Telework Environment 
Teleworking: 

• Employees may write an informal personal COOP (Continuity of Operations Plan) for teleworking at 
home that is complementary with their office COOP; that is, be prepared to do what you can from 
home.  

• Even if your job cannot be done entirely from home, download necessary programs on your laptop and 
be ready to bring it home. Identify what you need and get access to apps, PPE, and other resources.  

• Beginning May 1, 2020, telecommuting work agreements must be re-authorized and approved by the 
employee’s Management Team member in his/her chain of command. 

 
See Current Employee’s “Coronavirus (COVID-19) FAQ for answers to many employees’ questions.  Specific to 
telecommuting, refer to these two documents which address telecommuting: Telecommuting Policy (PDF) and 
Telecommute FAQ.  
The Division of Forestry allows for teleworking when approved by the employee’s supervisor at the location 
identified on the Telecommuting Work Agreement form.  

The telecommute address should be within commuting distance from the main workplace address and may not 
be farther than a two-hour callback time from the main workplace address. Any exceptions to this standard 
require Director approval. 

http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/directorsOffice/covid19/
http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/Human_Resource_Services/pdf/TelecommutingPolicy.pdf
http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/Recruitment/telecommuteFAQ/
http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/Human_Resource_Services/pdf/TelecommuteWorkAgreement.pdf
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Telecommuting from a location away from the permanent duty station 
The telecommute address should be within commuting distance from the main workplace address and may not 
be farther than a two-hour callback timeframe from the main workplace address.  Any exceptions to this 
standard require Director approval.  

EFF telework agreements  
Supervisors may work with any employee, including EFF, to create a telework agreement, if there are duties that 
can be performed remotely. Telework agreements must be renewed with chain of command management team 
member’s approval.  
 
The DOA telework policy indicates that wi-fi data plans are covered by individuals’ own plan. 
The telework agreement you sign makes it clear that you must be prepared to set up your own office and 
provide your own data plan and supplies. Per SOA teleworking policy, Section M:  

The telecommute location will require adequate workspace, light, telephone service, power and 
temperature control. The employee will provide telecommute worksite furniture and equipment and 
should maintain a clean and safe workspace. The State will not pay operating costs, maintenance, 
system upgrades, or other incidental costs (e.g., utilities, telephone, or Internet access) associated with 
the use of an employee’s telecommuting site. 

Technology Tips 
Our platform for discussing fire, resources, or responses to COVID-19 within SOA is Microsoft Teams. Documents 
may be shared within teams, videoconferencing can easily be set up, tasks assigned, etc. Employees of other 
agencies may be added as guests to these State of Alaska teams.  

WebEx can be used for teleconferencing with groups that include many other agencies and/or members of the 
public.  

For more information, see the “Technology Tips” section of DOF’s COVID web page.  

VII.  Continuity of Operation Plans for Office Shutdowns 
In case of complete shutdown of an office due to multiple illnesses, Continuity of Operations Plans 
(COOPs) have been developed by all offices and sections.  
 
Sign up for closure notifications here: Office Closure Information and Links.  

• Phone or Email: Receive notifications by phone or email when you sign-up or manage your GovDelivery 
subscription (select OFFICE CLOSURE list after login). 

• Web/Online: Check Alaska.gov for alert notifications and updates. 
• Facebook: On your home computer and with a person profile, sign up for the SOA Office Closure alerts 

on Facebook and/or Twitter .  
• Hotline: Check the State of Alaska Notification Hotline at 1-877-326-5551 

 (Please note that this telephone link is provided for smart phones and will likely generate an error on a 
land line.) 

• Nixle Alerts: Simply text any zip code to 888777 and receive real-time alerts and advisories directly from 
your local police department and other local agencies. 

 
  

https://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/Human_Resource_Services/pdf/TelecommutingPolicy.pdf
http://forestry.alaska.gov/covid
https://doa.alaska.gov/officeclosures/index.html
https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/AKDOA/subscriber/new
https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/AKDOA/subscriber/new
http://alaska.gov/#alerts
https://www.facebook.com/State-of-Alaska-Office-Closures-130951437021823/
https://twitter.com/SOA_OfficeClose
tel:+18773265551
tel:+18773265551
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Employee Wellness Resources 
Behavioral Health and Wellness During Epidemic and Pandemic Events 

• It is human nature and is normal to feel scared, confused, sad, angry and/or stressed during extreme 
events such as epidemics and pandemics. 

• Maintain a healthy lifestyle including proper diet, sleep, exercise and social contact by email or phone. 
Talk with trusted coworkers, family, and friends. 

• Do not use alcohol, tobacco, or other drugs, including the misuse of prescribed medications, to deal with 
emotions. 

• Get the facts and utilize credible sources of information such as local, state, and federal public health 
agencies. Gather information that assists in the accurate determination of the risks and provides 
reasonable directives and advice.  

• Limit unnecessary worry and agitation by lessening exposure to social media and news coverage that is 
upsetting or inaccurate.  

• Utilize personal skills used in the past that helped manage life’s adversities and use those skills to help 
manage emotions (e.g., meditation or other grounding techniques).  

• Family members, especially children, respond to stress differently than public safety professionals. Extra 
time and attention will be needed for families. 

• If overwhelmed:  
• Alaska Care Members (ACOA, APEA, AVTECTA, CEA, IBU, MEBA, TEAME, and Exempt Employees) 

can call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, to talk to a professional counselor: 1-855-417-2493 
• ASEA Health Trust Members (GGU and PSEA Employees) can call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 

to talk to a professional counselor: 1-877-234-5151 
 

Mental Health Resources 
We Alaskans are resilient and ready to meet the challenges life throws our way. We are also not afraid to seek 
help when we need it. The uncertainty and upheaval caused by the outbreak of COVID-19 may cause feelings of 
stress and worry for your or your family members. Fear and anxiety can be overwhelming and cause strong 
emotions in adults and children. If you or someone you know is experiencing a mental health crisis, please know 
that help is available and please do not wait to reach out. A wide range of mental health resources are available 
to you: 

Employee Assistance Programs 
Most state employees and their families have access to an Employee Assistance Program (EAP). EAPs typically 
offer confidential assessments, counseling, referrals and other services and information to employees and their 
families free of charge. Your EAP can support you as you tackle health and well-being issues, including COVID-19 
related anxiety; they are geared to provide assistance with difficulties you might encounter at work, family or 
personal relationship problems, stress, depression, grief, addiction and recovery, and more. 

• For ASEA Health Trust Members (GGU and PSEA Employees) 
• Call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, to talk to a professional counselor: 1-877-234-5151 
• TTY/TDD: 1-800-999-3004 (toll-free) 
• En Espanol: 1-888-732-9020 (toll-free) 

• More information about your Employee Assistance Program is online at 
https://www.aseahealth.org/your-benefits/employee-assistance-program-eap 

Careline: Alaska’s suicide prevention and someone-to-talk-to line. Call any time, toll free (877) 266-4357 (HELP) 
or Text 4help to 839863, 3-11 p.m. Tuesday-Saturday 
 

https://www.aseahealth.org/your-benefits/employee-assistance-program-eap
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VIII. Online Resources 
Division of Forestry: An online resource link for employees can be accessed by buttons on the DOF home page 
called “COVID-19 Response Tools.”  

Division of Forestry on Facebook and on Twitter. DOF staff can also subscribe to Alaska Fire Info, the interagency 
blog that is the main conduit for fire information for both the Alaska Division of Forestry and BLM Alaska Fire 
Service.  

Federal:  
• National Centers for Disease Control (CDC) FAQ 
• CDC FAQ for wildland fire fighters 

State of Alaska (SOA): 
• Health Mandate 010: International and Interstate Travel – Order for Self-Quarantine 
• SOA Coronavirus (COVID-19) FAQ  
• SOA Telecommuting Policy  
• SOA Facility Closure Policy  
• COVID-19 Leave Instructions  
• COVID-19 Employee Paid Leave Form  
• Governor’s News Room/Press Releases 

 

IX. Definitions 
Close Contact: Being within approximately 6 feet of a COVID-19 case for a prolonged period or having direct 
contact with infectious secretions of a COVID-19 case (e.g., being coughed on).  

Confirmed Exposure: Being coughed on, sneezed on, or hugged, or being within 6 feet of someone for at least 
15 minutes within a 24-hour period who has tested positive for COVID.  

Critical Infrastructure: includes businesses providing any services or performing any work necessary to the 
operations and maintenance of public works, such as the Port of Alaska, public works construction, airport 
operations, water, sewer, gas, electrical, oil production, mining, logging, roads and highways, public 
transportation, and solid waste collection and removal.” 

Essential Governmental Functions: includes all services needed to ensure the continuing operation of 
government agencies including to provide for the health, safety, and welfare of the public.  

Fully-vaccinated: more than two weeks following receipt of the second dose in a two-dose series, or more than 
two weeks following receipt of one dose of a single-dose vaccine. 

Isolation: ISOLATION separates sick people with a contagious disease from people who are not sick. For more 
information: www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/if-you-are-sick/isolation.html 

Quarantine: QUARANTINE separates and restricts the movement of people who were exposed to a 
contagious disease to see if they become sick. For more information: www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-
ncov/if-you-are-sick/quarantine.html 

Recommended: Advised or suggested course of action.  

Required: Deemed essential and/or instructed or expected course of action by an official authority. (Such as a 
Director, Commissioner, Governor, or President) 

Self-Isolation: Employee has symptoms and is voluntarily isolated from others.  

http://forestry.alaska.gov/
http://forestry.alaska.gov/covid
https://www.facebook.com/AK.Forestry/
https://twitter.com/AK_Forestry
https://akfireinfo.com/
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/faq.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/wildland-firefighters-faq.html
https://gov.alaska.gov/home/covid19-healthmandates/
http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/directorsOffice/covid19/
http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/Human_Resource_Services/pdf/TelecommutingPolicy.pdf
http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/COVID_19_Facility_Closure_Policy.pdf
http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/COVID_19_Leave_and_Telework_Tracking%20Instructions.pdf
http://doa.alaska.gov/dop/fileadmin/DirectorsOffice/COVID19messages/PAID_LEAVE_COVID19_VERIFICATION_FORM.pdf
https://gov.alaska.gov/
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/if-you-are-sick/isolation.html?fbclid=IwAR1krmPtGIXDeh8a3zOy60G8zX6qMB-jJiuh37k3pwATDv-KX09FoLEQQ0k
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/if-you-are-sick/quarantine.html?fbclid=IwAR1krmPtGIXDeh8a3zOy60G8zX6qMB-jJiuh37k3pwATDv-KX09FoLEQQ0k
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/if-you-are-sick/quarantine.html?fbclid=IwAR1krmPtGIXDeh8a3zOy60G8zX6qMB-jJiuh37k3pwATDv-KX09FoLEQQ0k
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Self-Monitor: Employee monitors them self for symptoms; including taking a temperature twice a day, using 
social distancing, and other infection preventative and control measures. 

Strict social distancing is defined by DHSS as:  
2. You may be in an outdoor public place, but stay six feet away from anyone not in your immediate 

household and wear a face covering. 
3. You may arrange curbside shopping or have food delivery. 
4. Please do not enter restaurants, bars, gyms, community centers, sporting facilities (i.e., ice rinks, 

gymnasiums, sports domes), office buildings, school or daycare facilities. 
5. Do not participate in any group activities, including sporting events and practices, weddings, funerals, or 

other gatherings.  

Work Restriction: Employee not at work, quarantined, and must self-monitor for symptoms. Length of work 
restriction determined by CDC, DHSS, AHD, or DOF guidance. 

  

http://dhss.alaska.gov/dph/Epi/id/Pages/COVID-19/socialdistancing.aspx#:%7E:text=The%20mandate%20states%20that%20strict,7%2D14%20days%20after%20arrival.
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Appendix A.  

Transport of Personnel with COVID-19 Exposure Precautions 

Transportation for Urgent or Non-Urgent Medevacs from incidents or within DOF facilities will follow 
the standard process for medevacs using the Medical Incident Report and requesting the appropriate 
transport based on the nature of the emergency. For on-incident patient transport with a Fire Medic 
present, consult the Interagency COVID-19 Fire Medic Program Handbook (FMP) (Link on DOF COVID 
webpage) 
 
When planning medevac patient transport, consider the following options: 

• Medical transport with pre-established contracts with the Division of Forestry, currently Beacon 
Health. 

• Fire Department or ambulance services within their designated service areas. 
• On-site transportation or with supplemental DOF transportation. 
• If no safe transportation options are available, quarantine or shelter in place for cases of 

suspected COVID-19 exposure or flu-like symptoms. 
  
Categories of Transportation: 

1. Incident or within-Area medevac categorized by Medical Incident Report as Urgent (Red or 
Yellow) or Non-Urgent (Green). 

2. Suspected contagious (flu-like symptoms) or confirmed COVID-19 exposure. 
3. Post-treatment transportation from a care facility. 

 
Risk Mitigation Associated with all Medevacs: 

• All patients will be assessed and treated as if they are a potential risk for Covid-19 exposure to 
allow for risk mitigation strategy.  

• Confirmed positive or negative in the field or lack of testing must NOT delay treatment or 
transport for any medevac patient.  

• With proper PPE in place and effective risk mitigation, the risk for exposure remains low. 
 
Professional Services access and precautions: 

• A dedicated transportation plan for Medevacs should be in place.  Consider a medical service 
helicopter, ambulance (if roadside), agency fire medics, and/or transport vehicle (SUV or Van) 
pre-established for medical transport. 

• Transportation plans should utilize professional services with training and engineering controls, 
examples below: 

o Covid-19 training: specific to transmission, infection, and decontamination protocols 
o PPE training: appropriate use, donning/doffing and re-use 
o Transport vehicle with necessary safety measures, ex. plexiglass/plastic sheeting 

dividing patient compartment from driver/pilot if the safety of operation is not 
compromised. 
 

http://forestry.alaska.gov/covid
http://forestry.alaska.gov/covid
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Personnel assisting with Medevacs: 

• Keep at least six feet from the patient unless you are directly involved with patient care. 
• Everyone that cannot keep a six-foot distance or will be in close quarters with the patient 

should wear a cloth face covering or disposable facemask, gloves, and eyewear. 
• Patient should also be wearing a face mask if tolerated (but not an N95 mask, because that 

makes breathing difficult). 
• Those traveling within an enclosed patient compartment of a high-risk patient should consider 

wearing an N95 respirator. 
• Be aggressive to avoid cross-contamination: avoid touching your face, clothing, patient, and 

other surfaces.   
• Wash hands thoroughly with soap and water or hand sanitizer immediately following the 

transport. 
• Follow decontamination after transport protocols, using contractual obligations for rental 

vehicles or CDC guidelines for disinfecting vehicles as soon as feasible. Shower and change 
clothing if possible. 

 
Post-Treatment Transportation 
When personnel must be transported to/from a health care facility, mob center, airport, hotel, duty 
station or home after treatment, consider implementing the following safety measures.  

• If possible, have a dedicated patient transport vehicle assigned for this task or consider a 
vehicle for the individual to drive. 

• Consider all personnel Covid-19 positive unless a test was performed to rule out possible 
exposure. 

• Appropriate PPE (face masks, eye protection and gloves) should be worn by drivers. However, 
do not jeopardize the safety of the driver by requiring PPE use that might interfere with their 
ability to communicate or safely operate. 

• The patient should be wearing a cloth face covering/disposable face mask if possible during the 
transport. 

• Have patient sit in rear of vehicle if possible, with cross ventilation, and do not re-circulate air. 
Following patient transport:  
• Remove gloves, perform hand hygiene.  
• Follow decontamination after transport protocols, using contractual obligations for rental 

vehicles or CDC guidelines for disinfecting vehicles as soon as feasible.  
• Shower and change clothing if possible. 
• Remove any contaminated waste and dispose of appropriately. PPE should be worn during the 

disinfection process. 
   
Patient Advocacy 
Employees being demobilized and in need of quarantine and/or isolation outside of the home unit will 
need logistical support for lodging, and meals during their quarantine and/or isolation. The Area will 
communicate with the home unit about how to compensate costs and ensure that support will be 
provided. Daily contact should be maintained to determine patient status and needs. 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/disinfecting-transport-vehicles.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/disinfecting-transport-vehicles.html
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Appendix B 

EMPLOYEE/VISITOR/CONTRACTOR COVID-19 SCREENING TOOL  

  

 1.  Have you…….  

  
Yes  /  No  

a. Traveled from or through, locations identified by the CDC as increasing epidemiologic risk 
for COVID-19 within the last 14 days?    
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/travelers/map-and-travel-notices.html 

Yes  /  No  b. Had close contact with anyone diagnosed with the COVID-19 illness within the last 14 
days?  

  

 2.   Do you currently have a …………  

Yes / No  a. fever (>100.4F) or chills   

Yes / No  b. cough or shortness of breath 

Yes / No  c. Any two of the following:  body aches, fatigue, headache, runny nose, nausea/vomiting, 
diarrhea, conjunctivitis, rash or any abnormal changes/ loss of taste or smell. 

 3.  Perform a temperature check ______◦F Method: oral / forehead (temporal) / tympanic (ear) 

 *Staff, see instructions on reverse for screening form.  

 * Employees to complete spreadsheet with information daily. 
 
Purpose of Visit (Circle one):    
Visitor/ Contractor  
Social (visiting an employee) – Employee name and number ___________________________  
Other ______________________________________________________________________  
  
Visitor/Contractor Name (Last, First): _____________________________________________ 
  
Date: _______________________________________________________________________ 
  
Department: _________________________________________________________________                   

  

  

 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/travelers/map-and-travel-notices.html
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Employee/Visitor/CONTRACTOR COVID-19 SCREENING TOOL    

 Instructions for staff:   
The designated entry to DOF facilities will have an employee available that will provide the COVID-19 Screening 
Tool to all persons entering the area (employees, visitors, contractors, etc.), ask each person to complete 
questions  and the temperature check.  

Negative Screening: If answers to all the questions are No, and there are no obvious signs of respiratory 
infection, e.g. frequent coughing, and temperature is < 100.4○F, follow usual procedures.  

Positive Screening: If answers to any of the questions are YES, or if the person has a temperature ≥ 100.4○F 
(oral), or if the person has obvious signs of a respiratory illness, ask them to wait in a separate area (6 feet from 
others or outside), and contact the FMO or other Leadership, for further direction.   

 

For regular employees who report for duty daily - avoid filling out the same form daily and adding to the 
paperwork burden, instead each area can create their own excel spread sheet with employee names,  daily 
screening results and temp (kept confidentially and not on display). 
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When Forestry employees are: 
• interacting with the public or 
• closer than 6 feet to anyone, 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

When at work, please have a face covering 
on your person. Be prepared to wear it 
when social distancing cannot be met. 
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Appendix D. Personal tracking/travel record to assist contact tracing.  

Personal Tracking/Travel Record 

Name:    

 

Date 
(Track from resource 
order date and time) 

Locations 
City, Airport 

Other locations: 
Hotels, stores, offices, 

incident 
sections/divisions 

Names of people in close 
contact with for more than 

15 minutes in a 24-hour 
period* 

    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    

*Based on our current knowledge, a close contact is someone who was within 6 feet of an infected 
person for at least 15 minutes within a 24-hour period starting from 48 hours before illness onset 
until the time the patient is isolated. If you have been exposed to someone who has tested positive, 
you should stay home, maintain social distancing, and self-monitor until 10 days from the last date of 
exposure, or you may take a COVID test to shorten this time. See the section of this Handbook: How 
Long to Quarantine for specific information.  
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